How Many Moons Does Jupiter Have Now

Although the answer to this question has been varying for years, it seems that it’s finally possible to answer it; so, how many moons does Jupiter have now? It has 63 moons now which make it the celestial body with the highest number of satellites.

The process of providing the answer to this question was very long. It is quite common that this kind of research lasts for years. These scientific efforts are very complex and long-lasting. Scientific observation may result in finding a new moon, but it doesn’t mean that the newly-found moon will be confirmed right away. Its existence must be confirmed by other scientists and their observations. If they all agree on the new discovery, the research data will be forwarded to the IAU (International Astronomical Union). Then, after the series of meetings and voting, the new moon will be officially accepted and named.

We tried to explain this in a rather simple way, but this process is a long-lasting one. It happened in the Jupiter case as well. For years it was believed that there were 49 moons of Jupiter. That was the official number. Recently, 14 more moons were officially accepted. So, Jupiter is considered to have 63 moons now.

The moons of Jupiter are divided into groups, according to their characteristics. Their names mainly come from mythology while some of them are simply marked by a roman number. Two major groups of Jupiter moons are: the group of regular satellites and the group of irregular satellites. There are eight moons belonging to the regular satellites group and fifty-five that make the group of irregular satellites. Regular satellites are divided into two groups; inner satellites and main group satellites. Irregular satellites are also divided into groups. They are numerous and very different among themselves.

Copyright © · Intelligent Mag, All Rights Reserved.